Ye Baal Mujhe De De


This has been the dialogue in my mind whenever I saw anyone with a mop of flirtatious curly/wavy hair walk by me. I craved for that hair, suffered to see those messy tresses tied down most inhumanely into a pony or worse a bun…watched in fascination as a few strands would break free & embrace the cool breeze and danced happily. And then I would feel my hair, limp & unenergetic *sigh!

Yes I have straight hair, as straight as it can get. So straight & non-messy that my friends in school used to play around with it trying to mess it up & all I needed to do was shake my head like a dog wags its tail & bingo! Straight again! You have no idea how much it broke my heart. And the irony of fate-girls with the tresses I’d kill for, coming to me & muttering how great it must be to have perfectly straight hair…how they have a hard time managing their curls, how their hair won’t listen to them at all! Until std10 I sported a hairstyle that our Chemistry ma’am had best described as “scientist’s hairdo”, the scientist in question not being Newton though. I looked like how Shabana Azmi would have after 1 month of shooting for Water(or fire…earth..God knows what was the movie!)

Finally I grew out my hair hoping a miracle would occur & I’d at least inherit my Mom’s wavy tresses(Pa didn’t have much hair for me to recognize whether it was straight or wavy). Sadly that never happened. All that happened was the change in city & the humid climate thinned down my hair. 2 years later I could be found in my room, lost in profound thoughts staring at the strands of hair on my comb *sob! I tried everything, from henna to olive oil(turned out that was a cooking oil). I wore scarves to protect my hair, admonished my boyfriend when his speed limit crossed 40km/hr & finally rescued my hair!:D

And then suddenly I discovered hair stylers. Yes now even if for a few hours even I could have those lovely curls on my head! I was ecstatic until I heard the warnings of my friends about the damage it causes to the hair making it dry & frizzzly. I’d almost given up on the thought when thanks to Indiblogger, I found a Dove gift hamper at my doorstep. It was the latest range of products they had-the Dove Oil Care shampoo, conditioner, serum & mask. One it was free and two, it was just the thing I needed to ensure I don’t end up bald after all the styling I’d be going into!
And so here I am from boring straight to maggi noodles & en route a lot more experiments & adventures with my hair!

If you liked what you read, do share your thoughts here 🙂

P.S This post is written for the Indiblogger DoveSpa contest

Thanks everyone for your support…this post has turned up one of the runners-up at the contest 😀

32 thoughts on “Ye Baal Mujhe De De

    • Hi there!
      First of all Hi5 for the straight hair 😛 & thanks for dropping by 🙂
      And yes Dove is a good brand you might want to try..do let me know how it worked out for you

  1. coming from a guy it might sound strange… but i decided to let my hair grow wild… and now no amount of oil or gel will keep my hair from turning into a massive afro! and by that i mean dry rough messy hair!

    nice post.. hope you maintain your hair better than me! and good luck with the new hair styles 😀

  2. Gimme some respect ok??? It was me who christened ur new hairdo – “Maggi Noodles”……u shud have the common courtesy to mention it r8??? Any way its a fine narration

  3. Love the way you love styling your hair 🙂 I’ve got wavy hair. I love the wavy look and I also I love straightening them ( too much love I know :p) dove is helping me a lot in styling too 🙂

Leave a Reply

