A Summer Without an Umbrella


As I am writing this I can still smell the heavenly scent of the wet earth right after a shower. I almost could hear the dialogue from Raaz where the ghost is like “barson se is zameen pe baarish ki ek boond tak na giri….par aaj yahan tufaan aaega…”. (in short : its gonna rain like hell baby!) Too bad the so-called tufaan lasted a whole of 20min after that it reduced to a meeker version of my bathroom shower. Even God is preserving water.

It has been a hot summer all over India. Here in Odisha you don’t get the loo-but you get something worse-humidity. That chip-chip feeling like you have got gum stuck all over your face. And the sun…I admire those aunties in their jogging outfits(read salwar suits) treading along at 6am in the scorching sun! By the time it is midday I can fry an egg on our rooftop, not that I have tried but I assume so. And the power cuts! Heaven save us from the merciless power cuts we have. It’s more like intermittent power supply for 45 minutes intervals! The first one being 1-1:45. No wonder all matinee & noon shows run houseful here, no matter what the movie is! And pack up that AC please, we don’t have enough voltage to run one either.

And let me tell you about the new umbrella I purchased. It cost me Rs180 of my hard-earned money & I happily trotted home with it. The next morning as I left home proudly holding that lovely blue umbrella, it simply closed! Yes, it was a damaged piece, the 2-fold section had come loose. I tried dhamkaying the shop-keeper, cajoled with him, flirted (to some extent) & still he refused to exchange it, arguing the non-existent strong winds must have made the rod loose. I dared not buy another one without my Mom around me.

So what’s a girl to do without an umbrella? Rely on her shades & sunscreen of course. With a skin like mine that takes its own time to decide whether it’s dry or oily, finding a sunscreen isn’t easy. But then I met this Lakme Diva Kyra who claimed to have the perfect sunscreen for me! She claimed she uses it always (not in the night silly!) & then proudly showed off her un-tanned flawless skin as proof. “So you mean to say I can skip the behenji type full length kurtis & actually wear my spaghettis??”

So now I don’t care if today it didn’t rain too much, let the sun shine tomorrow in all its glory. Am going out with my Lakme Sun Expert & my shades… what about you?

P.S: Am taking my Mom with me to that shopkeeper soon, to get my 180 buck back. God save the shopkeeper *evil laughter*

Meanwhile hit ‘like’ on Lakme’s Facebook page here.

Lakme Diva Blogger Contest

Lakme Diva Blogger Contest

4 thoughts on “A Summer Without an Umbrella

  1. in kerala we know the importance of umbrellas. and its starting to rain here too. and btw, girls try out every single shoes in the shop… go to 5 shops before finally buying a dress, and yet you buy an umbrella without opening it :O?

    at the justified risk of it sounding too clichéd- great post as always.

Leave a Reply

