And Then There Were None


The Lonely Tree

The ground, it shakes time to time

Rhythmic as a human’s heart

Faint at first, closer still

I hear the thundering crash

 

The whispers from the Wind had come

The Clouds had sent their sympathies

The Sky had sometimes wept for us

And the birds were forced to flee

 

We had all said our goodbyes by then

Resigned to the fate we must meet

I stood alone and looked around

At the corpses of my family

 

One by one they were hauled away

One by one they had fallen

Heads held high, leaves fluttering

Fearless, proud and graceful

 

The massacre had long begun and now

I just wanted it to come to an end

Although my leaves still turned out green

I forbade my fruits be born to be killed

 

A soft breeze sent his goodbye to me

I sighed with him & looked at the sky

At stars that had never been visible

And the moon sparkling so bright

 

I soaked in the scene with every twig

Felt the earth hold tight my roots

Caressed by the Wind I stood still

Death you see visits us all.

 

 

This post is a part of WOW an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

Write Over the Weekend theme for this week

Write from a point of view of the last tree standing in the forest.

3 thoughts on “And Then There Were None

  1. Pingback: Write Over the Weekend (WOW) – Dec 7, 2012 » BlogAdda Blog

Leave a Reply

